biegungen im ausland: Ignaz Schick – Kompositionen at ausland / Sunday, 15.12.2019

The Berlin sound artist, turntablist and saxophonist Ignaz Schick – key player in the real-time music scene – is also active as a composer. In this portrait evening dedicated to him, three of his graphic compositions from different creative periods are premiered. Schick has been developing his concept and text collection Book of Music since about 2009/2010, which is theoretically dedicated to different and very own strategies and methods of structural and formal organization of different (large) occupied creative ensembles to the orchestra. This concept and strategy collection gives the composer an extensive and flexible tool to organize musicians with different crafting or content formation and experience; it forms the basis for his new compositions. Over the years he has developed his own form and individual spelling, especially with regard to graphic notation. His works are timeline-based compositions in which both, graphic and verbal as well as traditionally notated passages are used. He deliberately writes for musicians who are themselves active as improvisers and have developed their own individual sound language.

Fo(u)r Electronics was already written in 2015 and is a graphic composition for four different live-electronics using different tools and instruments like laptops, tapes, turntables and analogue modular synthesizers. The work Atsahs Woblle was originally conceived as a solo piece for viola, but then developed during the composition process into a duo piece for two violas. The percussion quartet works with different superimposed and increasing and decreasing monochrome soundscapes. Schick focuses on metal (Donnerblech, Tam Tam, Anvil) and wood sounds. For the latter, he has designed special box-like wooden boxes with slats and rods in different sizes (soprano, alto, tenor, bass), which can be struck, plucked or even painted.

Ignaz Schick: Fo(u)r Electronics
Stefan Roigk – laptop
Ignaz Schick – turntable, sampler
Eliad Wagner – analog synths, electronics
Marta Zapparoli – tapes, field recordings

Ignaz Schick: Atsahs Woblle
Shasta Ellenbogen – viola
Marie Takahashi – viola

Ignaz Schick: New work (percussion quartet)
Alexandre Babel – percussion
Emilio Gordoa – percussion
Robyn Schulkowsky – percussion
Sofia Borges – percussion

Supported by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

biegungen im ausland: Ignaz Schick – Kompositionen

Saturday, 15th December 2019 | Doors 20:30 CET | Starts 21:00 CET
ausland | Lychener Str. 60 | 10437 Berlin

ausland Berlin | Event @ Facebook

Photo © Gregor Khuen Belasi

You May Also Like