Mogwai play Atomic at Admiralspalast Berlin / Tuesday, 30.08.2016

The epic soundtrack Atomic is undoubtedly one of their finest releases for years. Now the boys from Glasgow, Scotland bring this special audio-visual show to Berlin for a concert as part of the Pop Kultur festival. Mogwai are Dominic Aitchison (bass), Stuart Braithwaite (guitar, vocals), Martin Bulloch (drums), Barry Burns (keyboard, computer, guitar) and John Cummings (guitar, computer). They formed in Glasgow in 1995 as a quartet, with Burns yet to come into the fold.

Atomic is an original soundtrack album by Scottish post-rock band Mogwai, released on 1 April 2016 on Rock Action Records. The music was originally composed for Mark Cousins’ documentary Atomic: Living in Dread and Promise. The album features entirely instrumental music from start to finish. The song titles allude to atomic bombs such as Little Boy and Tzar Bomba as well as scientific or military objects and concepts connected with nuclear warfare such as SCRAM, Uranium-235 and Pripyat, the abanoned city near the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant in Ukraine. It is the first Mogwai album to not feature guitarist John Cummings, who left the band in 2015.

Atomic received largely positive reviews from contemporary music critics. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album received an average score of 78, based on 16 reviews, which indicates “generally favorable reviews”. Atomic; noun – Name of reworked version of music recorded for soundtrack to Mark Cousins’ documentary Atomic: Living In Dread And Promise. Reference: Band guitarist Stuart Braithwaite told The Quietus, “The Atomic soundtrack is one of the most intense and fulfilling projects we’ve taken on as a band. Ever since we went to Hiroshima to play and visited the peace park this has been a subject very close to us. The end results, both the film score and the record, are pieces I’m extremely proud of.”

Mogwai are a Scottish post-rock band, formed in 1995 in Glasgow. The band consists of Stuart Braithwaite (guitar, vocals), Barry Burns (guitar, piano, synthesizer, vocals), Dominic Aitchison (bass guitar), and Martin Bulloch (drums). The band typically compose lengthy guitar-based instrumental pieces that feature dynamic contrast, melodic bass guitar lines, and heavy use of distortion and effects. The band were for several years signed to renowned Glasgow indie label Chemikal Underground, and have been distributed by different labels such as Matador in the US and Play It Again Sam in the UK, but now use their own label Rock Action Records in the UK, and Sub Pop in North America. The band were frequently championed by John Peel from their early days, and recorded seven Peel Sessions between 1996 and 2004.[2] Peel also recorded a brief introduction for the compilation Government Commissions: BBC Sessions 1996–2003.

Mogwai play Atomic LIVE

Tuesday, 30.08.2016 | 20:00 CET
Admiralspalast | Friedrichstr. 101 | 10117 Berlin/Mitte | | Event @ Facebook

You May Also Like