D/B Recommended: Bill Kouligas, Navngitt Mønster Opptog & redFrik @ NK Berlin | Saturday, 26.01.2013

Berlin-based Greek artist and curator Bill Kouligas has become an important figure in the contemporary electronic music scene, thanks to PAN.

Regarded as one of the most interesting labels to emerge in recent years, its releases have created and revealed linkages between experimental and dance music scenes in a highly original manner.

Kouligas grew up in Athens on a steady dose of hardcore, post-punk and new wave, and had already got his hands deep in the European noise scene before arriving in Berlin.
Bill Kouligas | w/ Family Battle Snake at Bei Roy

He initially started PAN to document the music of his friends, while also setting up a platform to explore his graphic interests, and the cross-section of ideas that lie in-between.

PAN shines a light on today’s musicians as well as digging out seminal inspirations, joining the dots from electro-acoustic theorist Trevor Wishart to free-blowing sax man Evan Parker, via NHK’s rave re-imaginations, Heatsick’s casio marathons, and the immersive installation pieces of James Hoff.

Bill Kouligas | Boiler Room Dj Set

Navngitt Mønster Opptog brings together Norwegian drummer and percussionist Morten Olsen (snare drum, tape delay) and catalan sound artist Ruben Patiño (laptop, mixer). Their joint project blends acoustic and computer generated sounds while exploring the boundaries of repetitive structures and sound spatialisation.

Rubén Patiño, also known as Pato, works in the field of computer music, an activity he combines with occasional incursions in the installation field. Patiño’s works are characterised by an algorithmic compositional style that is both irreverent and hyperenergetic.

Navngitt Mønster Opptog | Echo

Morten J. Olsen is a musician, composer and improvisor best known for his work as a drummer with MoHa! and Ultralyd. Recently he has been exploring the inner sonics of a rotating 32-inch bass drum in duo with Robin Hayward, in trio with Chris Heenan and Michael Vorfeld, with the Splitter Orchester, with electronics and simply solo.

Fredrik Olofsson aka redFrik was formally trained as a composer at the Royal University College of Music in Stockholm. Since his graduation 2000, he has worked as a freelancing artist creating visuals, electronic music and installations.

Fredrik Olofsson & Mattias Petersson | Ström

As a video artist he has travelled the world collaborating with a multitude of performance artists, dancers and musicians. As a programmer he is known as a frequent contributor in the SuperCollider open source community.

Together with the group/project MusicalFieldsForever he has exhibited interactive art at museums and galleries in England, Germany, Japan and in the Scandinavian countries.

Bill Kouligas, Navngitt Mønster Opptog & redFrik  LIVE

Saturday, 26 January 2013 | 22:30 CET
NK | Elsenstr. 52 | 2.Hinterhaus Etage 2 |  12059 Berlin/Neukölln