Lucia Cadotsch of LIUN + The Science Fiction Band

LIUN The Science Fiction Band is the creative product of Lucia Cadotsch and Wanja Slavin’s obsessive exploration of the interplay between musical genres and also their own complexly woven reference points. They create a contemporary expression that merges the digital and analogue worlds. It all started in 2012 in a secluded cabin in the forests of Brandenburg when the world was supposed to end and where the duo spent three months writing songs and watching splatter movies, waiting for the apocalypse. Sadly nothing exciting happened but the recordings made during this time pushed them into new territories that would accompany each artist as they evolved in the years that followed. LIUN The Science Fiction Band meanders between dark, forceful beats and fragile melodic contours. Wanja’s complex, multilayered arrangements are contrasted with Lucia’s frank and translucent voice that cuts through the clutter.


1: Sorry Boy is a song and music video about female pleasure.

2: “Playing most of the instruments as well as arranging, producing and mixing simultaneously, felt like an octopus playing a cinema organ.“ – Wanja Slavin about producing our album TIME REWIND by LIUN + The Science Fiction Band

3: On December 11th 2019 we’ll play our album release show at Badehaus Berlin.


1. What is the biggest inspiration for your music?
Life with all its weird encounters.

2. How and when did you get into making music?
After one long struggle I looked out of a beautiful vulva, started singing and never stopped.

3. What are 5 of your favourite albums of all time?
Tyler the creator – IGOR
Nick Drake – Pink Moon
Tys Tys – Twisted fingers soft light blue
Kurt Rosenwinkel – The Next Step
Noname – Telefone

4. What do you associate with Berlin?
Berlin is busy and calm at the same time and every time I come back to this city, it embraces me with the feeling that I can be here, whoever I want to be.

5. What’s your favourite place in your town?
There’s this house – outside of town actually – in the middle of the Brandenburger forest where Wanja Slavin and me wrote and produced the entire LIUN + The Science Fiction Band album „Time Rewind“ over the last 7 years. This place one of the most beautiful oases and allowed to create our own musical universe.

6. If there was no music in the world, what would you do instead?
Making music videos is my new passion:-) I spent the last view weeks nights editing the music video for our single „Sorry Boy“. A song and music video about female pleasure.

7. What was the last record/music you bought?
Kate Tempest – Let them eat chaos

8. Who would you most like to collaborate with?
Tyler the creator, Noname and Kurt Rosenwinkel. Besides Wanja Slavin, Petter Eldh, Otis Sandsjö, Dan Nicholls, Ludwig Wandinger, Lucy Railton, Kit Downes my dream collaborators I’m currently working together.

9. What was your best gig (as performer or spectator)?
Oh there are many, I was blown away by the concert of my long time heroine Erykah Badu this year in Berlin and Pedro Martins with Kurt Rosenwinkel at Auster Club Berlin.

10. How important is technology to your creative process?
It is very important. Our upcoming release „Time Rewind“ would never have been possible to realize without technology. If it was possible I would become half woman half machine just to enhance my possibilities in making music.

LIUN & The SciFi Band will release their album “Time Rewind” with a performance at Badehaus on Wednesday, 11th December 2019!

Photo © Dovile Sermokas