KONTRAKLANG presents Andreas Borregaard & Sonar Quartet at Heimathafen Neukölln / Monday, 15.10.2018

This KONTRAKLANG evening is dedicated to the seldom heard combination of accordion and string quartet – specifically, the renowned Danish accordionist Andreas Borregaard and the Berlin-based Sonar Quartet. The heart of the program consists of two pieces that feature their unique collective sound: Dissolved Voices by the Taiwanese-Danish composer Li-Ying Wu and And have now forgiven everything by Juliana Hodkinson, which will have its world premiere in September. In addition, Borregard will also present the performative piece Self-Care by Jennifer Walshe for accordion, tape recorder and film, which deals with the musical and corporeal aspects of live performance. The evening ends with Sonar’s performance of a string quartet in a unique tuning by Marc Sabat entitled Beautiful City.

Andreas Borregaard is one of the most exciting accordionists of his generation. His career as a soloist and chamber musician reflects the broad palette of his instrument’s expressive qualities. Borregard regularly works with composers throughout Europe to expand the repertoire for the accordion. He has won several prizes, including the Music Prize of the Danish Composers’ Society in 2017.

The Sonar Quartet has quickly developed a name for itself since its founding in 2006. The string quartet focuses on the music of the 21st century and works closely with numerous contemporary composers, resulting in several works written expressly for the ensemble over the last years. With “fantasy, emotion, and a craving for experimentation rarely seen on the avant-garde stage” (Frank Kämpfer, Deutschlandfunk), Sonar is a beloved guest at festivals large and small in Germany and abroad.

Jennifer Walshe: Self-Care (2017, German Premiere) for accordion, tape recorder, and film
Li-Ying Wu: Dissolved Voices (2017, German Premiere) for accordion and string quartet
Juliana Hodkinson: And have now forgiven everything (2018, German Premiere) for accordion and string quartet
Marc Sabat: Beautiful city (1994) for string quartet

KONTRAKLANG presents Andreas Borregaard & Sonar Quartet

Monday, 15th October 2018 |  20:00
Heimathafen Neukölln | Karl-Marx-Straße 141 | 12043 Berlin-Neukölln

kontraklang.de | heimathafen-neukoelln.de | Facebook event

©T. Petrarschke

You May Also Like